Search Results

30 results

Filter by States Affected
Select states to filter this list




Water Needs and Strategies for a Sustainable Future: 2010 Progress Report

June 2010

This report from the Western Governor's Association, along with the 2006 report, "Water Needs and Strategies for a Sustainable Future," and the 2008 report, "Water Needs and Strategies for a Sustainable Future: Next Steps" includes consensus recommendations to promote the cooperation between western states and federal, local, and private sector partners in addressing the challenges of over-appropriated watersheds, population growth, land use changes, water needs for in-stream uses, and water supply and water management strategies.

Resource Category: Monitoring and Reporting


See Resource Login to Add to My Resource List



Department of the Interior (DOI): Plains and Prairie Potholes Landscape Conservation Cooperative (LCC)

The Plains & Prairie Potholes Landscape Conservation Cooperative (PPP LCC) is one of 21 LCCs established by Secretarial Order No. 3289, which focus on on-the-ground strategic conservation efforts at the landscape level. LCCs are management-science partnerships that inform integrated resource-management actions addressing climate change and other stressors within and across landscapes.




Bureau of Reclamation

Established in 1902, the Bureau of Reclamation is best known for the dams, power plants, reservoirs, and canals it constructed in the 17 western states, including Hoover Dam on the Colorado River and Grand Coulee on the Columbia River. The Bureau of Reclamation is the largest wholesaler of water in the country. They bring water to more than 31 million people, and provide one out of five Western farmers (140,000) with irrigation water for 10 million acres of farmland that produce 60% of the nation's vegetables and 25% of its fruits and nuts.




High Plains Regional Climate Center

The High Plains Regional Climate Center is one of six regional climate centers in the U. S. managed by NOAA's National Climatic Data Center (NCDC). The mission of NOAA's High Plains Regional Climate Center (HPRCC) is to increase the use and availability of climate data in the High Plains region. HPRCC personnel work closely with scientists from other regional and federal climate centers on climate services and programs and provide a regional structure for climate applications. The long-term objectives of the HPRCC are to carry out applied climate studies, develop improved climate information products, and provide climate services in the High Plains region.




North Dakota State Climate Office

The mission of the North Dakota State Climate Office (NDSCO) is to advance the use of climate information for the economic and environmental benefit of North Dakota and the public safety of its citizens, through climate monitoring, research, education, and extension and information services.   The NDSCO provides the public with a multitude of resources on weather data, weather data summaries, climate summaries, and climate reports.   The climate summaries and reports provided use data collected by the North Dakota Agricultural Weather Network and the National Weather Service.




U.S. Forest Service Western Wildland Environmental Threat Assessment Center (WWETAC)

The Western Wildland Environmental Threat Assessment Center (WWETAC) is a unit of the Pacific Northwest Research Station. The Center was created to predict, detect, and assess existing and potential environmental threats to western wildlands. Information will be developed and shared about forest impacts such as invasive plants, potential insect outbreaks, the appearance of invasive insect threats, the appearance of new pathogens (such as sudden oak death), and other threats. There are many WWETAC climate change related research projects, impact assessments, modeling tools, short courses, as well as affiliated workshops available on their website.




USFS Rocky Mountain Research Station

One of five regional units that make up the U. S. Forest Service (USFS) Research and Development organization, the Rocky Mountain Research Station maintains 14 research locations throughout a 14-state territory encompassing the Great Basin, Southwest, Rocky Mountains and parts of the Great Plains. The station administers and conducts research on 14 experimental forests, ranges and watersheds while maintaining long-term databases for these areas. The station also oversees activities on more than 260 Research Natural Areas and leads ecosystem management and research partnership projects in Arizona, Montana, New Mexico and Nevada.




USGS North Dakota Water Science Center

The USGS North Dakota Water Science Center provides information on North Dakota's rivers, streams, lakes, surface water, ground water, water quality, water use, flooding, drought, and many other topics. The center also has publications, data sheets, projects, and scientific reports on a range of hydrological topics.




Western Forestry Leadership Coalition

Formally established in 2000, the Western Forestry Leadership Coalition is a partnership between state and federal government forestry leaders in the west. The Coalition is comprised of 34 members including 23 State members, also known as the Council of Western State Foresters, and 11 USDA Forest Service members, including 7 Regional Foresters, 3 USFS Research Station Directors, and a USFS Forest Products Lab Director. The purpose of the Coalition is to address critical resource issues across ownerships and jurisdictions.




Western Governors' Association (WGA)

The Western Governors' Association is an independent, nonprofit organization representing the Governors of 19 states and three US-Flag Pacific islands. Through their Association, the Governors identify and address key policy and governance issues that include natural resources, the environment, human services, economic development, intergovernmental relations and international relations. Governors use the WGA to develop and advocate policies that reflect regional interests and relationships in debates at the national and state levels.