FEMA Severe Repetitive Loss Program

The Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL) grant program provides funding to states, territories, and local and federally-recognized Indian tribal governments to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to severe repetitive loss (SRL) of structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Eligible activities under this program include: acquisition and relocation of at-risk structures and the conversion of property to open space; elevation of existing structures to the Base Flood Elevation (BFE) or an ABFE Advisory Base Flood Elevation (ABFE) or higher (for the SRL program Mitigation Reconstruction is only permitted when traditional elevation cannot be implemented); minor physical localized flood control projects; and dry-flood proofing (historic properties only).

The definition of severe repetitive loss as applied to this program was established inĀ  section 1361A of the National Flood Insurance Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 4102a. An SRL property is defined as a residential property that is covered under an NFIP flood insurance policy and:

(a) That has at least four NFIP claim payments (including building and contents) over $5,000 each, and the cumulative amount of such claims payments exceeds $20,000; or

(b) For which at least two separate claims payments (building payments only) have been made with the cumulative amount of the building portion of such claims exceeding the market value of the building.

Related Organizations:


Resource Category:

Resource Types:

  • Funding program


Go To Resource