Flood Mitigation Assistance Program

FEMA provides Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA, CFDA Number: 97.029) funds to assist states, territories, local and federally-recognized Indian tribal governments to implement measures that reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to buildings, manufactured homes, and other structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program.

FEMA announced a new round of funding for Fiscal Year 2021 totaling $160 million. The application period for this round of funding will be open from September 30, 2021 to January 28, 2022 at 3:00 P.M. ET.

The Fiscal Year 2021 funding notice for the Flood Mitigation Assistance program adopts the Center for Disease Control's Social Vulnerability Index as an additional scoring criteria to rank applications for proposed projects and activities. This new criteria prioritizes funding for the disadvantaged communities by awarding extra points to projects that affect underserved populations. 


Purpose: Similar to the other Hazard Mitigation Assistance programs, the purpose of the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program is to help states and communities reduce risks from natural hazards, though the FMA program focuses specifically on reducing long-term risks of flood damage to structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Eligible Uses and Adaptation Uses: FMA is primarily used to provide project funding in floodprone areas, but can also be used for limited planning purposes. Eligible project activities include: acquisition, demolition and relocation; elevation of existing structures to the Base Flood Elevation (BFE) or an Advisory Base Flood Elevation (ABFE) or higher; minor localized flood risk reduction projects; and dry-flood proofing (historic properties and non-residential structures).  When used for planning purposes, FMA funds can only be used for developing the flood hazard component of a hazard mitigation plan that meets the planning criteria outlined in 44 CFR Part 201.

Eligible Grantees: Same as with PDM, states and Indian tribal governments can serve as the primary applicant, but they can subaward to other state agencies, tribal governments, and communities.  But “community” is defined as political subdivision having zoning authority and regulatory authority over development in floodplains.

Process and Requirements:  Subapplicants for FMA funds are submitted to the state (primary applicant) and must be consistent with the FEMA-approved hazard mitigation plan. Projects must meet requirements for technical feasibility and cost effectiveness and must comply with environmental review and historic preservation rules.  A 25 percent match is required for most projects; but FEMA may provide up to 100% of funds to address severe repetitive loss properties and 90% for repetitive loss properties.


The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides up to date information on recent appropriations to this program from Congress, the average size of grants, and matching requirements.  A summary is included here, but check the CFDA for more up to date information:

  • Recent Obligations: Anticipated FMA funding for FY2021 is $160 million, up from $700 million in 2020.
  • Size of Grants: For planning grants, applicants are eligible to receive $100,000 with a maximum of $50,000 for state plans and $25,000 for local plans (42 U.S.C. 4104c). Other grants are awarded on a competitive basis.

Authorization: National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended, 42 U.S.C § 4104c.


If you have any trouble accessing the website link above, please find here an archived page. This archived page may, however, have more limited functionality.


Related Organizations:


Resource Category:

Resource Types:

  • Funding program


Go To Resource