California 2013 State Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan

California’s 2013 Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan Update was approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in September 2013.  Prepared by the California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES), this report is a comprehensive update of the 2010 State Hazard Mitigation Plan (SHMP) addressing the impacts of disasters caused by natural, technological, accidental, and human-caused hazards in California.

Cal OES describes the new material that has been added to the SHMP on climate change adaptation and mitigation as “substantial.”

The Plan update describes relevant state laws and policies, outlines preliminary strategies for addressing climate change, and identifies principles for incorporating climate change into state, local, and regional hazard mitigation planning. It includes consideration of how climate change will exacerbate risks of natural hazards for the state, such as flooding and wildfires. 

In Chapter 4 “Risk Assessment Overview,” section 4.5 describes “An Emerging Risk Factor: Climate Change.” This includes a thorough review of California’s climate change initiatives including mitigation and adaptation measures and policies, as well as an additional comprehensive list of adaptation planning resources. This section also summarizes local and regional climate adaptation planning efforts, and provides an overview of vulnerability assessment and climate adaptation strategy development.  

Overall, the SHMP 2013 Update:

• Documents statewide hazard mitigation systems implemented in California
• Describes strategies and priorities for future mitigation activities
• Highlights new hazard mitigation initiatives since the 2010 SHMP
• Describes and illustrates mitigation progress and success stories
• Facilitates integration of local, state, tribal, and private sector hazard mitigation activities into a comprehensive statewide effort
• Meets state and federal statutory and regulatory requirements for an “Enhanced State Mitigation Plan”

The plan was recognized by FEMA as an “Enhanced” plan, which makes California eligible for extra aid in the event of a federal disaster declaration.

State and local governments must develop FEMA-approved hazard mitigation plans to be eligible for hazard mitigation funding under the Stafford Act. The State Of California updates its SHMP and resubmit for FEMA approval at least once every 3 years to ensure continued funding eligibility for Stafford Act Grant programs, including FEMA’s hazard mitigation assistance programs: Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, Pre?Disaster Mitigation Assistance, Repetitive Flood Claim Program, as well as the Fire Management Assistance Grant Program and Public Assistance grants. 



Publication Date: September 30, 2013

Author or Affiliated User:

Related Organizations:


Resource Category:

Resource Types:

  • Plans (other)

States Affected:


Go To Resource